County Intro

Prince George County was formed in 1703 out of Charles City County. It covered a huge area encompassing all or a portion of present day counties of Amelia, Bedford, Campbell, Charlotte, Dinwiddie, Franklin, Greensville, Halifax, Henry, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, Nottoway, Patrick, Pittsylvania and Prince Edward.

Parish Intro

Westover Parish and Weyanoke Parish were both formed in 1618. They were reorganized in 1721 and Martin's Brandon Parish was formed in 1721 for portions of the preceding parishes that lay south of the James River. St. Andrews Parish was split off from Martin's Brandon Parish and Bristol Parish 1720 when Brunswick County was formed. Raleigh Parish was split off from Martin's Brandon Parish in 1735 when Amelia County was formed. Bristol Parish was formed in 1643. Bath Parish was split off from Bristol Parish in 1742. Both of these were added into Dinwiddie County when it was formed in 1752.


For Bristol Parish Recordes and Land Patent Index, see Dinwiddie County.

Abstracts and Charts

Census Summary 1790-1850

1810-1820 Census

1830-1840 Census

1850 Census

Personal Tax Digests Summary 1782-1795

Personal Tax Digests Summary 1796-1809

Personal Tax Digests Summary 1810-1823

Personal Tax Digests Summary 1824-1837 - Not Yet Researched

Personal Tax Digests Summary 1838-1850 - Not Yet Researched

Land Tax Digests Summary 1782-1795

Land Tax Digests Summary 1796-1809

Land Tax Digests Summary 1810-1823

Land Tax Digests Summary 1824-1837

Land Tax Digests Summary 1838-1850 - Not Yet Researched